Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Discussion of hacking, editing and developments in Advance Wars games.
Remember, no Rom Requests
User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:05 am

So I put together some AW2 U NM2 Modules.

The link to the nm2 modules is here.

The link to the Nightmare2 program is here.

Some photos:
ImageImage
ImageImage

This is my collection of Nightmare2 Modules for editing Advance Wars 2 (U).

What is Nightmare2?
It's an application designed to allow for making easy data editors and the like. You can find the official download where it's always updated at http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/336940/Nightmare%202.7z

You need the Java Runtime environment (http://www.java.com) to run the Nightmare2.jar file, but it should run on any platform that supports Java such as Windows or Mac OS

What do Each of the Modules Do?
aw2cmap - Edits the details of the campaign map headers.
aw2co - Edits various statistics of the COs.
aw2copower - Edits details of the 'Default' CO Power Type for each CO
aw2copowermisc - Edits a few random details of CO Powers.
aw2costat - Edits the statistics of a CO's units with the standard stat sets.
aw2costatcustom - This is for using the pointerhackultra patch (see below) to edit each CO's units individually.
aw2infostring - Edits the R-Button Info Window for units
aw2map - Edit details of the map header for every map in the game.
aw2mapanim - Edit details of the Unit's Map Animations
aw2mapsprite - Changes a unit's default idling sprite on the map
aw2movechart - Edits the default movement charts for various movement types
aw2shoppic - Allows for easy editing for the shop graphics pointers.
aw2unit - Edits unit details
aw2unitanim - Edits a unit's animation on the map details
aw2unitmap - Edits the Unit Sprite used for each faction's units

What's all that stuff in the goodies folder?
There's two patches for the ROM and a copy of the most excellent IPS patching program Lunar IPS.
Here's what they do:
Lunar IPS - Applies and creates IPS patches (saving and applying copies of IPS patches which are files with edits)
cleaner.ips - Got an Aw2 rom with one of those dodgy intros? This will remove it.
pointerhackultra.ips - A custom hack I made to allow fine control over CO stats. Apply this and use the costatcustom module to edit each unit's stats individually for each CO rather on a per-category basis.
defencedisplay.ips - Allows the CO Dossier Stats page to display a CO's Defence for a unit

Update Log:
6/1/2010
Added 3 new modules.

18/5/2010
Added some new entries to the aw2misc module
Fixed erroneous setup for the last few units in aw2costatcustom (subs and landers)

6/6/2010
Added some AI commands to aw2co module
Added new modules

21/9/2011
Added some new modules
Updated some old modules to fix errors
Updated some old modules with new information
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:51 pm

I have added 3 new modules. Download from the same link:

aw2mapsprite - Changes a unit's default idling sprite on the map
aw2movechart - Edits the default movement charts for various movement types
aw2shoppic - Allows for easy editing for the shop graphics pointers.
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Wed May 19, 2010 12:25 am

I've updated the modules.

18/5/2010
Added some new entries to the aw2misc module
Fixed erroneous setup for the last few units in aw2costatcustom (subs and landers)
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

Some random dude

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Some random dude » Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:03 am

I downloaded it but it doesn't work. I installed the Java and all but it says it can't open the file...what program do I use to open it?

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:15 am

You're just supposed to run Nightmare2.jar which runs in the Java Runtime Environment.
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

User avatar
Sven

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Sven » Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:31 am

crumpets is so cash

Xen

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xen » Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:15 pm

I might have some new modules I can put out soon, as well.

User avatar
Bonesy
Rank: Dog Peddler
3DS Code: 0318 8318 0000
Location: Arid Zone

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Bonesy » Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:31 pm

Hm, maybe you could find someone on say, Romhacking.net to do some sprite editing modules?

Xen

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xen » Fri Jun 04, 2010 1:57 pm

I suppose I could for some of the uncompressed images, but the vast majority of it is held in Lz77 compressed image data. Then again, the guy who wrote FEditorAdv also did Nightmare2 and the former can handle compressed graphics with aplomb.

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Sun Jun 06, 2010 7:46 pm

6/6/2010
Added some AI commands to aw2co module
Added new modules (aw2mapanim for unit map animations)
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

some random guy

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by some random guy » Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:22 am

Xenesis wrote:You're just supposed to run Nightmare2.jar which runs in the Java Runtime Environment.
Thanks! I got it running :D
I just realized that I needed to unzip it and extract the files.

Davie232

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Davie232 » Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:06 am

Hi ive downloaded Nightmare and the rest of the stuff when i open Nightmare i dont know what to do next, can anybody help?

User avatar
Satel

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Satel » Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:19 am

You have to click on "select file", then choose your file, and click "open module". You will have to find the Nightmare modules (this should be easy since it's in your downloads if ou didn't put it somewhere else) and then you can edit everything. Don't forget to save your file before closing Nightmare 2.
Joey wrote:i think i was mad at certain players and wanted to wave st3rn's success in their face at the most opportune moment, or something

st3rn fudge st3rn

Davie232

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Davie232 » Wed Aug 04, 2010 9:10 pm

Ive tryed opening every module but it sends me back to the open module bit....is there something im doing wrong?

ThunderWalker
Rank: Elf
Location: Netherlands

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by ThunderWalker » Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:41 pm

Davie232 wrote:Ive tryed opening every module but it sends me back to the open module bit....is there something im doing wrong?
Same here.
My sig is a void.

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Wed Aug 04, 2010 11:11 pm

That's weird, I've never had any problems.

Is your Java Runtime installs up-to-date?
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

ThunderWalker
Rank: Elf
Location: Netherlands

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by ThunderWalker » Wed Aug 04, 2010 11:37 pm

Xenesis wrote:That's weird, I've never had any problems.

Is your Java Runtime installs up-to-date?
Yes.
My sig is a void.

Davie232

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Davie232 » Wed Aug 04, 2010 11:58 pm

ThunderWalker wrote:
Xenesis wrote:That's weird, I've never had any problems.

Is your Java Runtime installs up-to-date?
Yes.
Same i download java last night so i could use it

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:03 am

Did you open a ROM before you tried to open a module?
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

Davie232

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Davie232 » Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:12 am

what do you mean?

ThunderWalker
Rank: Elf
Location: Netherlands

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by ThunderWalker » Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:51 am

Xenesis wrote:Did you open a ROM before you tried to open a module?
No.
My sig is a void.

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:07 am

Well, you need to.

Open file for editing (top button) and then open modules (bottom button).
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

ThunderWalker
Rank: Elf
Location: Netherlands

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by ThunderWalker » Thu Aug 05, 2010 5:21 pm

Even with doing that, the result is exactly the same... nothing happens.
My sig is a void.

Davie232

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Davie232 » Fri Aug 06, 2010 8:08 am

ThunderWalker wrote:Even with doing that, the result is exactly the same... nothing happens.
yeah same...maybe something needs updated or something

Xen

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xen » Sat Aug 07, 2010 11:15 am

I'm not really sure what to tell you two then beyond redownload Nightmare2/Modules, make sure Java is up-to-date and make sure you're pressing the right buttons because I'm not having any issues with it :|

ThunderWalker
Rank: Elf
Location: Netherlands

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by ThunderWalker » Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:58 pm

When clicking on "Open file", the same happens as when clicking on "Select File".

Both are recent downloads so I don't really think THAT is the problem.
My sig is a void.

Davie232

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Davie232 » Mon Aug 09, 2010 3:31 am

I got it now im such a noob :(...anyway how do i get modules onto the game because i dont have a clue what im doing

Edit

Never Mind ive got it

User avatar
Satel

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Satel » Mon Aug 09, 2010 5:17 am

Maybe the window is opened but stays in your toolbar so tou don't see it is opened even if it actually is.
That seems dumb, but this happened to me.
Joey wrote:i think i was mad at certain players and wanted to wave st3rn's success in their face at the most opportune moment, or something

st3rn fudge st3rn

Xen

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xen » Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:22 pm

Someone told me they were having trouble with NM2 opening modules. Turns out they were opening one of the descriptive txt files instead of a nightmare module file (.nmm)

So uh yeah. (Just an FYI for anyone else)

ThunderWalker
Rank: Elf
Location: Netherlands

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by ThunderWalker » Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:01 pm

Sorry, that isn't the case here. In fact, I tried both.
My sig is a void.

Davie232

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Davie232 » Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:00 pm

ThunderWalker wrote:Sorry, that isn't the case here. In fact, I tried both.
Thunderwalker start nightmare 2 then select the advance wars 2 rom then go to the Advance wars 2 nightmare 2 modules then go to any off the NNN files once you double click on one of the NNN files the AW2 modules will come up.

ThunderWalker
Rank: Elf
Location: Netherlands

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by ThunderWalker » Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:17 pm

Problem solved, but a new problem appears and I still can't do anything: Windows says the files are broken.
My sig is a void.

Some helper

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Some helper » Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:27 pm

Delete your broken files and download Nightmare2 again...?

no one

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by no one » Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:45 am

I'm using Nigthmare2 to edit an AW2 rom, but I don't know how to apply the changes that were made to the rom... I save the changes in a folder, but when I check it, nothing apeared. I would be grateful if anyone could help me.

Note: Sorry if there are some errors, because english isn't my first language.

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:22 am

To save changes, close the module editing window then on the file handler menu go to 'File - Save' and save it wherever.
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

no one

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by no one » Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:22 pm

Now I can finally begin working in my own project...Thank you.

no one

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by no one » Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:38 am

Is it possible to add new units using Nightmare2 modules? If not is there a way to do that easily? I've tried to add some but i can't make them appear in shop menu and when I try to spawn them with Sensei's powers they appear bugged (when i try to attack or capture only the "Wait" command shows up; they also show descriptions like "The final mission is at hand. Destroy th pipe seam to liberate the country" or "Adder has trapped Sami. Rescue her" when the R button is pressed and some graphics like the ones of the fuel and vision don't appear. I would appreciate the help if someone is able to answer.

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:49 am

Yeah, there's a lot of work that you need to do to make a unit playable.

To make a unit buildable by a human player you have to add them to the shop menu. For the AI it requires some ASM coding.
You can find this:

Code: Select all

081BA054 = Unit build list: List of what Unit IDs to check Build IDs and what order they're in on the screen. (Format: UID1, UID2, UID3, FF Terminator
To make the R-Button menus appear normally you have to do a lot of repointing. Note that the game WILL crash if you haven't set up one of these properly (which means that by default, only the first dummy unit will work without crashing here. You can assign it one of the pointers for another unit as a temp option though).

Code: Select all

Around 08499730 is format for display of effectiveness icons in the shop/r button screen
03004100 - Current unit highlighted in the menu
084997C8 - Base pointer for 'sets' of these effectiveness icons
	Pointers
	Infantry - 08499734
	Mech - 0849973C
	Md Tank - 08499746
	Dummy (UID4) - 08499746
	Tank - 08499754
	Recon - 08499762
	APC - 0849976A
	Neotank - 08499746
	Dummy (UID9) - 00000000
	Artillery - 0849976B
	Rockets - 08499774
	Dummy (UIDC) - 00000000
	Dummy (UIDD) - 00000000
	Anti-Air - 0849977D
	Missiles - 08499786
	Fighters - 0849978B
	Bombers - 08499790
	Dummy (UID12) - 00000000
	Battle Copters - 08499799
	Transport Copters - 0849976A
	Battleships - 084997A7
	Cruisers - 084997B0
	Landers - 0849976A
	Subs - 084997C0

	6A 97 49 08

Format: Appears to be of customisable length bytes long.
Comes with items in two-byte pairs.
06 - Blank the rest of 'Weapon 1'
07 - Blank the rest of 'Weapon 2'

xxyy

xx:
0  = Inf
1 = Veh
2 = Copter
3 = Plane
4 = Ship
5 = Sub

yy:
0 = Circle
1 = Triangle
That'll fix the damage icons and the like being stupid.

To get them to attack you need to edit their damages so they can actually shoot things. Find the "full" version of the damage chart editor somewhere on this subforum, that edits the dummy units.

To fix the descriptions and the fuel/move icons is actually rather fiddly and I'll get back to you when I have the notes on hand because I don't have a nice writeup for the format as of yet.
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

no one

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by no one » Fri Aug 20, 2010 3:06 am

Thank you for the info, but I don't know which tool I should use to make those changes into the rom...

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Fri Aug 20, 2010 8:44 am

A hex editor for most of them.
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kim Jong-un [Bot], Multivac [Bot] and 0 guests