Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Discussion of hacking, editing and developments in Advance Wars games.
Remember, no Rom Requests
User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:54 pm

Hi, I don't remember the post/question...so probably not?
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

User avatar
Satel

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Satel » Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:34 am

One year later...

The issue was that the Terrain Firepower (Lash's D2D) modifier, instead of doing just what it's supposed to do, basically halved or multiplied terrain stars for everyone to create the effect.

So anybody wanting to give Lash +20% Attack per Terrain Star ended up doubling terrain defence for everyone, and everyone wanting to give her the DS-nerfed passive ended up halving terrain defence, still for everyone.
Last edited by Satel on Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Joey wrote:i think i was mad at certain players and wanted to wave st3rn's success in their face at the most opportune moment, or something

st3rn fudge st3rn

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:06 am

Aha.

While I'm not surprised, that was always tricky to play with without directly re-writing the code instead, the move to ARMIps has meant that I've improved things a lot.
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

User avatar
Satel

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Satel » Thu Jan 30, 2014 4:14 am

Do you know how to change that without having to write the code, or is it necessary? I'd like to know.
Joey wrote:i think i was mad at certain players and wanted to wave st3rn's success in their face at the most opportune moment, or something

st3rn fudge st3rn

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:41 pm

As it is, changing it does involve re-writing some code (as it is, even the Nightmare module does that...although in the wrong spot). You can change it by fiddling around with what comes from here, but there's not really much room to change what you want to do. At 0x08043372, it checks whether the 'terrain into firepower' flag is set, loads the current terrain defence and adds it to the firepower.

Code: Select all

0804336E F7FFFE6F bl      #0x8043050
08043372 2140     mov     r1,#0x40
08043374 4001     and     r1,r0
08043376 2000     mov     r0,#0x0
08043378 2900     cmp     r1,#0x0
0804337A D001     beq     #0x8043380
0804337C 2106     mov     r1,#0x6
0804337E 5E60     ldsh    r0,[r4,r1]*
08043380 BC10     pop     {r4}
08043382 BC02     pop     {r1}
08043384 4708     bx      r1
08043386 0000     lsl     r0,r0,#0x0
This is the code block that needs to be changed. The bold is the point where the bonus is loaded, you've got precisely one opcode's wiggleroom to change it. That branch also needs to be changed to work.

If you wanted to say, double the bonus you'd have to do this:

Starred are things I've changed:

Code: Select all

0804336E F7FFFE6F bl      #0x8043050
08043372 2140     mov     r1,#0x40
08043374 4001     and     r1,r0
08043376 2000     mov     r0,#0x0
08043378 2900     cmp     r1,#0x0
0804337A D002     beq     #0x8043382*
0804337C 2106     mov     r1,#0x6
0804337E 5E60     ldsh    r0,[r4,r1]
08043380 0040     lsl     r0,r0,#0x1*
08043382 BC10     pop     {r4}*
08043384 BC02     pop     {r1}*
08043386 4708     bx      r1*
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

User avatar
Satel

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Satel » Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:23 pm

Oh, I see why it was so difficult now. Repointing stuff because you have to add something in between...
I guess that after changing this, only the 08043380 value matters? It seems that you just added this to apply another operation to the terrain firepower, namely x2, am I right?
Joey wrote:i think i was mad at certain players and wanted to wave st3rn's success in their face at the most opportune moment, or something

st3rn fudge st3rn

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:17 pm

That's correct. Multiplying or dividing by powers of 2 can be done in one opcode. Non-2 multiplication requires more.
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

User avatar
Satel

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Satel » Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:38 pm

Oh. I thought replacing that 0040 by 0080 or anything else like for Colin's Gold Rush operation byte would work...
Oh well, thanks for the explanation. Gonna break Lash now. ^^

EDIT: 0840 gives us Lash's AWDS incarnation, just like I thought.
Joey wrote:i think i was mad at certain players and wanted to wave st3rn's success in their face at the most opportune moment, or something

st3rn fudge st3rn

User avatar
Marmalad
Rank: Joyful simpleton
Location: Green Earth HQ

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Marmalad » Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:24 am

I'm sorry, I cannot find the "Nightmare2.jar" file In Nightmare2.

Is that normal ? :geshrug:

I've used Hexecute with the cleanerpatch to edit AW2, but that only works if I want to change D2D capacities and stats during COP and SCOP.
Now I want to change CO's powermeters, but I don't know what to do to reach my goal.

Please, could you help me ? :geshorts:

User avatar
Satel

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Satel » Sun Apr 06, 2014 2:52 am

Either you do this the hard way (read: look CO Data and change in in the Hex Editor), or... I don't know, I don't exactly understand what you're saying.

Just saying, when you open the Nightmare2 folder, you should see a dist folder in it. Open it, the Nightmare2.jar file should be inside this folder.
Joey wrote:i think i was mad at certain players and wanted to wave st3rn's success in their face at the most opportune moment, or something

st3rn fudge st3rn

User avatar
Marmalad
Rank: Joyful simpleton
Location: Green Earth HQ

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Marmalad » Sun Apr 06, 2014 2:35 am

St3rn wrote:Just saying, when you open the Nightmare2 folder, you should see a dist folder in it. Open it, the Nightmare2.jar file should be inside this folder.
I agree. But except "GOODIES" and "AW2NMM", I don't have any other folder. And nothing about ".jar". Only NMM and .txt.

I suppose Java can open NMM folder, but it still doesn't work. A black table appears during one second and vanish immediatly.

Maybe I've used the wrong link, but it's the link gived in the first post of that topic.

User avatar
Satel

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Satel » Sun Apr 06, 2014 3:24 am

Oh, you only downloaded the modules.

You have to look lower in the first post to download Nightmare2 itself.
Joey wrote:i think i was mad at certain players and wanted to wave st3rn's success in their face at the most opportune moment, or something

st3rn fudge st3rn

muramasa

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by muramasa » Sun Apr 06, 2014 3:45 am

The link to nightmare2 is broken.
Check this, marmalad: http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/610/

User avatar
Marmalad
Rank: Joyful simpleton
Location: Green Earth HQ

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Marmalad » Sun Apr 06, 2014 4:08 am

Thanks you so much muramasa ! :geflash:

Alrgith ! :D

Now I have to understand how to use correctly that kind of program... :|

:gecap:

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Sun Apr 06, 2014 9:45 am

I fixed the link in the OP, so that should help :P

Thanks muramasa.
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

WhiteStarGab

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by WhiteStarGab » Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:46 am

With Nightmare2 Can I edit a Hack Rom? For example, the ''AW2 - Expanded CO Army v1.04''. I want to edit Caulder COP and SCOP, and D2D stats.

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:20 pm

Depends on how it's been done.

If it has only had the original COs edited, then the nightmare2 modules might work. If like how Taelith's been doing with his hacks and he's recoded a bunch of things it might not work at all.
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

salvadorc17

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by salvadorc17 » Wed Aug 24, 2016 6:35 am

Thee is not missing unt placement editor for campaign maps and predeployed in this toolset..

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Wed Aug 24, 2016 10:15 am

salvadorc17 wrote:Thee is not missing unt placement editor for campaign maps and predeployed in this toolset..
That's because it's not something Nightmare2 can do properly - they're lists that can be of a variable length.

Try this: http://www.mediafire.com/download/ntv48 ... AW2%29.zip (RadioShadow made it years ago, still handy)
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

salvadorc17

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by salvadorc17 » Thu Aug 25, 2016 5:09 am

Xenesis wrote:
That's because it's not something Nightmare2 can do properly - they're lists that can be of a variable length.

Try this: http://www.mediafire.com/download/ntv48 ... AW2%29.zip (RadioShadow made it years ago, still handy)

So you can use this one to create new unit headers, and after you should add pointer to this data??

User avatar
Xenesis
Tri-Star CO
Tri-Star CO
Rank: Hydrocarbon Inspector
3DS Code: 2535-4646-7163
Location: 0x020232DD

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by Xenesis » Thu Aug 25, 2016 10:23 am

salvadorc17 wrote:
Xenesis wrote:
That's because it's not something Nightmare2 can do properly - they're lists that can be of a variable length.

Try this: http://www.mediafire.com/download/ntv48 ... AW2%29.zip (RadioShadow made it years ago, still handy)

So you can use this one to create new unit headers, and after you should add pointer to this data??
Precisely.
IST wrote:Even the worst individual needs to discover the joys of a chicken statue that is also a pregnant blonde housewife.

salvadorc17

Re: Advance Wars 2 Nightmare2 Modules.

Post by salvadorc17 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 7:39 am

And for the maps that does not have predeployed units, how to proceed?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Multivac [Bot] and 0 guests