EVERYTHING SVEN MEGATHREAD

WWN's Social Lounge. The place to come and chill out for a relaxed conversation about life and stuff, or some more serious debates.
Sven

EVERYTHING SVEN MEGATHREAD

Post by Sven » Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:44 am

alright maggots

i need somewhere to dump all my academic links i find that isn't my bookmarks

because those are crowded

anyway this is the deal:

i'm currently studying the following things for the following purposes:
---
chess -> rating improvement, need a game to play
math -> general problem solving, AP calculus gets me uni prep
biology -> learn to memorize stuff, AP biology gets me uni prep
chemistry -> general problem solving, AP chemistry gets me uni prep
physics -> general problem solving, AP physics gets me uni prep
statistics -> sometimes this stuff is really useful in math, AP statistics gets me uni prep
computer science -> programming crumpets is hella important in today's world. even the ability to poke in, read code, and get out is awesome, AP comp sci could be useful

current resources:

chess - loads of torrented books
math - loads of torrented books
bio - http://library.thinkquest.org/28751/mainmenu.shtml
chemistry - http://www.tvgreen.com/apchem/apnotes.htm
physics - http://cwx.prenhall.com/bookbind/pubbooks/walker2/
statistics - some torrented books, more material needed
computer science - torrented books
french - part of a class, i have french TV/radio/music
flashcard program - http://www.mnemosyne-proj.org/
flashcard database - http://www.flashcardexchange.com/
flashcard ripper - http://www.mnemosyne-proj.org/node/107

feel free to dump any academic links, this will be where i detail my progress/dump anything amusing i see

-> things of note

chess people really can't seem to decide on how to get someone improving. since coaching is hella expensive, i'm on my own. my plan is to master endgames, then work on middle game positioning/tactics, and finally i'll look up some openings.