Competitive maps and settings?

Talk about the shiny-new post-apocalyptic Advance Wars game here.
Sodapop

Competitive maps and settings?

Post by Sodapop » Wed Dec 01, 2010 3:56 pm

What are the standard maps for competitive play and what are the settings? IE. Fog on/off, weather, etc.

I am new to competitive AW, but have been playing casually for a long time. I want to really get into this game even though the community is quite small, I got a bunch of friends that I have started competing with and it would be nice to know what settings/maps to play on and what maps to create.

Thanks in advance,

Sodapop.

DxDyDzD

Re: Competitive maps and settings?

Post by DxDyDzD » Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:16 pm

Fog off, clear weather (unless you want to give Penny a handicap), no starting income, 1000G funds, airports included, no ports.
Day limit is around 25 but most games are decided before that.
Rationale for each:
Fog: Only makes games longer.
Weather, funds: Default setting is the best. For funds, with 1000G per prop, on 2 starting bases + HQ maps, it's just enough for 2 Inf on Day 1.
Airports: No airports means Lin and Tabitha have an edge with a CO Tank.
Ports:
GipFace wrote:Whoever reloads gunboats first wins
Most of the maps included in the game are bad because they are symmetrical, so the first player has an advantage. You're better off creating maps from AWBW, which give the second player an Infantry to balance things out.

Sodapop

Post by Sodapop » Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:54 pm

I know this is going to get me branded as "noob" for while for this question but why fog off? Isn't that where a lot of strategy would come into play with surprise attacks and such?

JuigiKario

Post by JuigiKario » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:11 pm

Sodapop wrote:I know this is going to get me branded as "noob" for while for this question but why fog off? Isn't that where a lot of strategy would come into play with surprise attacks and such?