MDR - A military strategy game

Discussion of complete and in-progress major AW Hacks or Projects - challenge hacks, War Room map packs, Online Advance Wars sims.

Moderator: Terragent

enexomer

MDR - A military strategy game

Post by enexomer » Sat Apr 07, 2018 3:05 am

Hello all,

I've long been a fan of advance wars and years ago I started programming a game that borrowed a few concepts from the series, as well as some of my own ideas. I recently found this forum and saw how people are currently interested in a game on the PC that incorporates the mechanical improvements brought along with AW:DoR, so I thought I'd pick the project back up. I've been working on it for a month now, and it's coming along nicely. I reckon with six months of concerted effort I could probably finish it, but I have heavy (actual) work coming up in the next few months so you shouldn't expect fast updates.

Still, I thought I'd post about it here. Features that may be of interest to you are:
- Different factions with unique armies <-implemented
- More types of deployment properties (infantry-only barracks, bases) as well as militia units that can deploy from cities <- implemented
- Custom commanding officers with abilities that function similarly to AW:DOR
- Aircraft that fly over terrain and do not impede the movement of ground units <-implemented
- Height and terrain temperature, line-of-sight <- implemented
- A passable AI <-implemented but currently too stupid to live
- THRILLING 3D GRAPHICS
- Network/Online play
- Human-editable rulesets and maps <- implemented
- Supply tracking and resupplying of food, fuel and ammunition, infantry fatigue in harsh conditions <- implemented
- Veterancy
- Units of the same kind sharing ammo, merging, launching and landing, parachuting, carriers and transports, suicide units <-implemented
- Unit visibility and sight acuity stats replace simple vision range, hopefully making ambushes and particularly ranged combat more interesting <- implemented